Our Beginning

Our First Days 


            The first meeting of the Sackville N.S. Lions Club was conducted by District Governor Joe Maund and was held on February 2nd., 1971, at the Knox United Church to elect the officers of  the new club.  They were Gordon Johns as president, Don Mattinson as Secretary, Wilf Demone -1st. Vice President, Layton Dempsey - Treasurer, Reg Morris - Tail Twister, and Mac MacKenzie as Lion Tamer.     


            The Charter from International Association of Lions Clubs arrived dated February 16. 1970 with the twenty-nine Charter  Members.   Lions Moses Avery, Kelly Barnes, Ernest Beaton, Ben Blinn, Gerald Boutilier, John Campbell, Owen Davis, Roy Davis, Blair Dean, Layton Dempsey, Wilford Demone, Edgar Doull, Edgar Eisenhauer, Gregory Glazebrook, Gilbert Hustins, Ralph Hutchinson, Gordon Hubley, Gordon Johns, Glen Keiller, Ronald King, D.O. Mattinson, Alonzo [Reg] Morris, Gordon Morrison, S.A.'Mac' MacKenzie, Howard Nettle, Kenneth Peverill, Conley Rogers, Norman Williams, Merlin (Bill) Chase. These members were inducted at the Charter Night Banquet held at St. John Vianney Church Hall on April 10th, 1970.


            The first elected full term officers were installed on July 11, 1970 by the District Governor. They were President Gordon Morrison, 1st. Vice President Howie Nettle, 2nd. Vice President Conley Rogers, Secretary Don Mattinson, Treasurer Layton Dempsey, Lion Tamer Roy Davis, Tail Twister Bill Chase, Directors Mac MacKenzie, Ernie Beaton, Reg Morris, Greg Glazebrook.


Lions Clubs International News
Connect with Us Online