History of the Chambersburg Evening Lions Club

In 1983, three members of the Chambersburg Lions Club, Steve Caldwell, Mike Cerveris and Tom Werdebaugh, convinced that they could be more effective in a different arena, set out to organize a second Club in Chambersburg. Along with two members of the Green Township Lions Club (Sam Fitz and Glen Smith) a nucleus was formed and they went to work.    An additional 18 members were recruited and the application for charter was submitted on May 23, 1984.

The charter was officially presented to the new Evening Club on August 18th of that year. With five transferees and eighteen new members, the Chambersburg Evening Lions Club hit the ground running and hasn't stopped.

Consistent with the expressed intention to be an active Club and the need for funds the Club was on the Square two weeks later for the second annual International Food Festival with our German, Polish and Italian Sausages. Thinking that food booths might be our forte we showed up at Fish Rodeos, Food Feasts, Armed Forces Days etc. but found that weather, competition and leftover perishable inventories, made it difficult to consistently make a profit. We also tried selling raffles, Bonus Books, casino nights and even sponsored "Up With People" twice but decided that fund raising was not our strength. However, in the   past few years we have had better success with our broom sales, which we took over from the Chambersburg Noontime Lions Club. As a result we have been able to increase our contributions to the District and selected local needs considerably.

In addition we recently added a Pancake Breakfast, and in 2013 conducted our firt "Apple Raffle" which awarded Apple i-products.

CELC King Lions/Presidents

1984-1985       Steve Caldwell

1985-1986       Mike Cerveris

1986-1987       Sam Fitz

1987-1988       Russ Bennett

1988-1989       Glen Smith

1989-1990       Frank Boyle

1990-1991       Joe LaGrassa

1991-1992       Tom Spering

1992-1993       Mike Daugherty

1993-1994       Barry Stouffer/Steve Caldwell*

1994-1995       Glen Smith*

1995-1996       Joe LaGrassa*

1996-1997       Jim Wilson

1997-1998       Frank Boyle*

!998-1999       Zan Beattie

1999-2000       Ernest Charlesworth

2000-2001       Ethel Harmon

2001-2002       Skip Remson

2002-2003       Lu Merriman

2003-2004       Cliff Brug

2004-2005       John Massa

2005-2006       Pat Evans

2006-2007       Henry Johnson

2007-2008       Bruce Kessler

2008-2009       Dan Hoover

2009-2010       Dave Keller

2010-2011       Zan Beattie*

2011-2012       Ernie Charlesworth*

2012-2013       Skip Remson*

2013-2014       Bruce Kessler*

2014-2015      Dan Hoover*

2015-2017      Steve Caldwell*

2017-2018         Dean Barrick

                                                                              *2nd "reign" as King Lion

Lions Clubs International News
Connect with Us Online