Hi-Lion Chairman Gus Gudmunson (left) stands with three of our Hi-Lion guests, T.J. Krug of Mount St. Mary High School, Delaram Hajimirsadeghi of Deer Creek High School   and Sydney Ore of Putnam City (Original) High School
Since the 1970s and possibly earlier, seniors from metro high schools have competed for Hi-Lion Scholarships which are awarded to worthy applicants who present compelling cases of personal achievement and need. The award went to $4,000 in 1984 and has since gone to $33,000 divided by six winners.
 Hi-Lions attend our weekly luncheons for a month. On the fourth Tuesday, each gives a three-minute speech on his/her personal achievements, social and scholastic activities, plans for the future and scholastic / professional goals. Lions in attendance select a Hi-Lion of the Month, who receives a guaranteed scholarship, and then competes for Hi-Lion of the Year, a $12,000 scholarship
Runners-up (monthly winners) receive lesser scholarships: $3,000 for 1st runner-up, $2,000 for 2nd, and $1,000 each for 3rd, 4th and 5th.
Participating high schools for the 2010/11 school year are Bethany, Del City, Deer Creek, Edmond Santa Fe, Midwest City, Mount St. Mary, Moore, OKC Capitol Hill, OKC Northwest Classen, Putnam City (original), Putnam City North, Putnam City West, U.S. Grant, Southeast, Western Heights and Westmoore.
For more information, contact Lion Gus Gudmunson at (405) 616-1585 or e-mail to .
Year               Student              College             High School
1983/84          Kent Tyler                OSU             John Marshall
1985/86          Karl Henson            OSU             John Marshall
1986/87          Wayne Thomas      OSU             Western Heights
1987/88          Dane Mauldin         OSU             OKC Southeast
1988/89          Jonathan Melchor   OU                U.S. Grant
1990/91          Jonathan Koelsch   UCO             Mount St. Mary
1991/92          Bradley Piccolo      OU                 Putnam City
1992/93          Neele Gray              UCO              PC North
1996/97          Anthony Crooks      OU                 Putnam City
1997/98          David Lehman         SNU              PC West
1998/99          Adrienne Emel        OU                 Putnam City
1999/00          Jenny Boyer              OSU              Westmoore
2001/02          Matthew O'Riley       OSU-OLC    NW Classen
2002/03          Vicky Hernandez     OU                 Mount St. Mary
2004/05          Tabitha Dunham      OU                 Bethany
2005/06          Kristen Arambula   OU                 Mount St. Mary
2006/07          Johnny Cardenas   OU                OKC Capitol Hill
2007/08          Trevor Duhon          UCO              Del City
2008/09          Shardae Lewis       UCO              Del City
2009/10          Emmanuel Castro   OU                 U.S. Grant
2010/11          Kaleb Siemers          OU                       Western Heights
2011/12          Jeremiah Stinnett      OU                       Del City

2014/15        Vanessa Meraz     Moore              OU/Moved to Wash DC

2015/16        Chris Coronado     Southeast         OU/Pre Med?

2016/17        Noah Stoudt          Mt St Mary       OSU/Engineering

2017/18        Miguel Montelongo Santa Fe South  OU Engineering

2018/19        Abigail Stoudt        Mt St Mary        OSU/Engineering
OSU =              Oklahoma State University, Stillwater
OU =                University of Oklahoman, Norman
UCO =              University of Central Oklahoma, Edmond
SNU =              Southern Nazarene University, Bethany
OSU-OKC =      Oklahoma State University at Oklahoma City
M-N CT =           Moore-Norman Career Tech, Norman
                        *Still attending college


Lions Clubs International News
Connect with Us Online