Georgetown Lions Citizen of the Year and the Lion Fred Zorge Service Club Member of the Year 

Halton Hills Ontario 

Scroll Down to Learn More About This Year's  COTY 

Since 1972 The Georgetown Lions Club has honoured individuals, couples or organizations for their volunteer work in our community.  They all have one thing in common, the desire to make Georgetown a better community for everyone. Our Lions members contribute thousands of hours of volunteer work each year we know what it takes to serve and it is fitting that we give recognition to a citizen who has served his or her community in an outstanding way.  The final selection is based on the recipient’s achievements and their outstanding contributions to our community.  The committee wishes to acknowledge and thank those Georgetown citizens who write to us and made nominations for the Citizen of the Year Award.

How Do I Nominate Someone?

To nominate an outstanding volunteer send a letter or if you prefer use our application form and return it to Lions Club Citizen of the Year, P.O. Box 73, Georgetown L7G 4T1, or email  . Past nominations are carried forward for two years and will be reconsidered.  This is your chance to truly recognize someone in our community that makes a difference in the lives of many in our town. To nominate using the Lions application  form click on the link below: 

Application Form


2021 Citizen of the Year (COTY)

Glen MacDonald


The Georgetown Lions Club is pleased to announce Georgetown’s Citizen of the Year for 2021; Glen MacDonald. The award given out annually since 1972 recognizes the contributions that volunteers make to the community, past recipients have included individuals, organizations and couples..


Glen MacDonald receives  the award from Lion Doug Penrice



Past Recipients


1972- Peggy Treahy                                       1995 –Lois Fraser

1973 – Georgetown Volunteer Fire Dept.        1996 –Trevor Williams 

1974 – Rev. Peter Barrow                               1997 –Ron   & Dorothy Hunt 

1975 - Georgetown Volunteer Ambulance      1998 –May  & Shell Lawr

           Service                                                  1999- Paul C. Armstrong

1976- Connie Nieuwhof                                    2000- Barry & Sandra Timleck

1977 –Walter H. Gray                                      2001- Manley & Doreen Densmore 

1978- Irwin & Joy Noble                                   2002- Martin Boomsma

1979 – Karen Harrison                                     2003- Jenny Tuffin

1980- Violet Haines (                                        2004- Tom Schenk

1981- A.V. Ab Tennant                                      2005- Glenda Benton       

1982- Esme Ball                                               2006- Louise Brown

1983- Ralph Ursel                                            2007- Homecoming Committee 2007

1984- W. “Steamer” Emerson                          2008- Dr. Jeff Sutherland

1985- Jean Layman                                         2009- Ernie Bodnar 

1986- Georgetown Girls Pipeband                  2010- Dianne Penrice

1987- Edward “Ted” Gorth                               2011- Laurent Thibault     

1988- Thompson “Tom” Ramautarsingh          2012- Graeme Goebelle

1989- Jesse Hayes                                         2013- Brenda Sisnett

1990- Siena Van Hoekelen                             2014- Fred Helson 

1991- Lena Johnston                                     2015- Kay d’Entremont

1992- A. “Sandy” Booth                                  2016- Dave and Dale Cox

1993- Lou Darcie                                            2017- Gerry Kentner                           

1994- Russell Miller                                        2018-Dee Dee Haynes-Ridley

                                                                         2019-20 Marilyn Serjeanston


The Lion Fred Zorge Service Club Member of the Year

The Georgetown Lions Club has since 1972 honoured a worthy volunteer by awarding the Annual Citizen of the Year Award.  Over last 47 years the award has been given to individuals, couples or organizations that have made Georgetown a better community.

 The format has remained consistent until 2019,  Lions Club added a new award.. The Lions is the largest service club organization in the world with over 1.4 million members in over 200 countries  we know the dedication that is required to be a good service club member.

Service clubs are unique in that the members join not only to undertake community service but also to form close bonds and friendships that endure for many years. Members may channel all their volunteerism through the service club the success of the projects undertaken benefit the community while the individual member may not get the recognition in the broader community as the whole club undertook the project. The Lions felt that the community should be able to honour and publicly acknowledge those service  club members that give of their time and talents to the community accordingly  a new award was established commencing in 2019 and will be combined with the Lion's  Citizen to the Year Award Dinner.  

The inaugural winner of the award in 2019 was Lion Fred Zorge 

Application Form

The Lion Fred Zorge Service Club Member of the Year 2021

Mike Kiwanian Mike Francis 

The Lions Club is pleased to announce that Mike Francis a member of the Georgetown Kiwanis Club has been selected as the Service Club Member of the Year. Mike joined the Kiwanis in 2005 when he moved to Georgetown to open his insurance business. He was encouraged to join to establish new contacts in the community and was soon on the board of directors of the Kiwanis. Mike was familiar with the good work that Kiwanis undertake as a youth in London he played football for the Kiwanis Football Club.

See More

Due to  COVID 19 the awards presentation information will be released at a later date. 

 Councillor Jane Fogal Awards Certificate from the Region of Halton 

Glen and MPP Ted Arnott, Ted presented certificates from the Province and the Federal Government

Glen receives front page of the Independent Free Press from Jennifer Spencer


Glen gets the Key for the Town from Mayor Bonnette






Special thanks to our caterer Linda Armstrong and Halton Commercial Printing



Lions Clubs International News
Connect with Us Online